Photobucket Ransoming Users Accounts

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Photobucket Ransoming Users Accounts

Post by Snowth Poogle on Fri Jun 30, 2017 7:07 pm

It's hard to believe that anybody out there would still be using Photobucket, but they do, and I've been one of them: I've been using Photobucket for about twelve years now, and it was mainly at the suggestion of some people here when I was looking for a service to store pics to avoid using up space and bandwidth on servers that would host websites I did. After all these years, I continued to use Photobucket simply because they were, once upon a time, the most reliable and secure image-hosting service out there: other alternatives were always (and in many cases, still are) sketchy.

Then over the years, Photobucket started changing: I remember several years ago, they started distorting and compressing uploaded images as a way of conserving their own bandwidth . . . they eventually stopped doing it, but the damage they did was pemanent and irreversible, so now many of my older pics I have on Photobucket look like low-quality JPEGs that were edited in Microsoft Paint. More recently, they started resizing uploads that were over 1000px - I didn't have too many images larger than that size, but on some occasions, I would, so now, likewise, the damage has been done and is irreversible. Then they started policing what you could upload to your account, even if they were set to private (much like how private and unlisted videos on YouTube can still receive copyright strikes).